summer sign-off

Leave a comment

10.24.2013 by Andrea

C55A9365

photo credit // instagram @ahaniu

Fog is starting to sock the PacNW in. I know that the first day of Autumn officially began over a month ago, but when you are treated to such swell summer weather, you begin to believe [call it a sense of entitlement if you will] that the next season should equally be as nice. I’ve said it before, and since we haven’t had too many rainy tailgates [knock on wood] over the past few seasons, honestly I like the crispness of Fall. It’s the the wet, snarly snaggletooth side I don’t have much patience for. But as the calendar turns, so does the scrumptious seasonal offerings both in restaurants and grocery stores. Bring on the comfort food, I tell ya!

As I was compiling some of the spots that I got to eat fresh NW grub throughout the summer I realized my tastebuds and stomach didn’t suffer. One of the joints I am proudest to share is a new lunch spot in Seattle. Like ships passing in the night while I was crafting my plan to move to NY, this duo was executing their return to Seattle by way of New York. H & T took a concept that is widely loved in Manhattan and launched it in the heart of downtown. Evergreens Salad is basically salad on demand. If you thought salad bars had gone by the wayside then refresh your thoughts. It’s a build your own hand crafted salad eatery that is out of this world. They recently launched an app that you can place orders on. Even better is the use of local goods, generous portions, awesome salad chopping viewing experience, excellent customer service, and a complete 360 reflection of the who the owners are. The humorous salad names, a deep commitment to giving back to the community that was established before their doors were flung open, and the chance to welcome to hometown boys back should propel ES to the top your list of places to fill your belly at lunch time. Well done boys.

photo 4

photo 3

photo 5

photo 1

photo 2

My dance card was full with all the weddings I got the privilege of attending this year. All of them were memorable in their own way. K & J, or Mr. & Mrs. B, now, are two pea’s in a pod. They decided that accumulating more material goods wasn’t a high priority and created an American Cancer Society fundraising page requesting that guests give the gift of research and funding to find a cure. I can’t think of a better way to honor those who are loved and unable to attend their special day. Thank you for sharing your hearts with us you two, cheers.

photo 4

Mr. & Mrs. B

photo 3

Yes, it does/did appear I was taking plates of delicious crustaceans and other various under the sea delights. Honestly, I was bringing back food for group consumption at our table.

photo 5

I was teasing my friend SJ the other day because he doesn’t understand why everyone [and their mother] was encouraging him to go to Revel in Fremont. We all know that he loves himself some homeland eats, and it seemed natural for people to think that Revel was going to be right up his alley with a tagline like “urban style Korean comfort food.” Revel doesn’t lie, it’s just not necessarily what SJ’s mom and grandma make for him. At the end of the day it envelopes you like a warm blanket and might be some people’s first exposure to kimchi. My older brother lived in Seoul for 3 years until he was adopted, and I recall stories of my mother finding it difficult to locate kimchi in Goldendale, Washington circa the late 70’s. I never touched this cabbage deliciousness until recently and now, paired with a tasty entree, I am a bigger fan than I was for the better part of my life. It’s about getting back to your roots. Beyond the kimchi, you’re going to be hard pressed to find something that you don’t like on the menu at Revel. The mixologist hand crafts cocktails that are to.die.for and the food is meant to be shared family style which means all the little plates are piled high with tasty samplings.

photo 3

photo 2

photo 1

photo 4

I mentioned that when we went to Chicago one of the chicken dishes was out of this world. The same thing had occurred when my friend KL had ordered the chicken when we ate at Cuoco recently. KL is a Montana boy, so he doesn’t order chicken often, but when the server tells you the roast half chicken is one of the best items on the menu, and passionately promises that you won’t be disappointed, then …. you go with that. First of two thumbs up on chicken dishes in less than a week ala KL.

photo 3

photo 1

big thumbs up for the chicken!

photo 2

We might as well stay on the Tom Douglas train since you know how much I love his eating empire. I got to dine at TanakaSan with two of my favorite eaters. One being the photographer extraordinaire of the fog shot at the beginning of this post and the other, my newfound eating and adventuring partner. When my Facebook feed started to light up with updates on people dining at TanakaSan this summer I immediately started salivating. I’ve dined there two different times and found entrees on either side of the clock that I immensely enjoyed. C ordered the pastrami hash and I have been heavily hinting that it would make for a great tailgate breakfast. M & I dined communally right before he was set to jet off overseas and the caramelized coconut beef was everything a girl could ask for and more. Mmmm, I start drooling thinking about both of those items. I wasn’t over the moon about the signature family fried rice or the dumplings, but found the wedge salad to hit the spot. Looking forward to eating there again. Not too mention TD has really gone to town to create the chill vibe at Assembly Hall. Upstairs there is shuffleboard [along with various other games], waitstaff will allow you partake in tasty drinkable spirits, and you can also see other worker bees in production of amazing TD bites. This might be my new favorite hangout space that is still semi-untapped and not too hipster-ish … yet.

photo 5

huge chunks of pastrami in their mouthwatering hash

photo 4

photo 3

photo 2

photo 1

photo 2

photo 1

beef and rice that will leaving you wanting more

I was in a rush to get to Local 360 on time, [yes, I know, when I am I not rushing?], and totally missed the reader board that stated they were having a bacon happy hour. Say it again. Bacon Happy Hour. Yes! Yes! Yes. Except, for it wasn’t occurring that night and I wasn’t in town when said happy hour did occur. Don’t doubt that I will alter my schedule to make that tip top priority for my next Seattle visit. As per normal Local 360 did not disappoint. And if you can’t have bacon on everything, why not drop a little on the deviled eggs to make your night?

photo 1

photo 2

That’s a wrap for summer eats. I’m still ensconced in fog and hoping that it lifts enough for some jetting around the country. Until the next bite, stay warm, eat well and welcome to snuggling down with cozy blankets, hot toddy’s and cheery fires. Salut.

what's cooking?

follow me on pinterest

Instagram

 

